top of page

Join our mailing list and never miss an update!

Relationships and gratitude

The time between Thanksgiving and New Year’s Day is the perfect time to focus on relationships and gratitude. It’s a time for us to focus on building and solidifying relationships by giving thanks to those who have helped over the past year as well as those who will be part of life in the coming year. This show of gratitude, when done without an agenda and with great sincerity, can strengthen familial relationships, friendships, and business partnerships that carry into the New Year and beyond. For instance, my family and I enjoy going around the dinner table each evening and talking about the highs and lows of our days. Even though this is a simple practice, it often reminds me of points of gratitude that I experienced throughout my day and provides a set time for me to share about these moments with my family.


Jennings family fly fishing in Colorado

My family is the most important thing to me. I just love hanging out with them and am grateful for many things in regards to my family. In no particular order, I am thankful that my daughter, Reagan, had a safe and successful Fall semester at college and now is home for the holidays. I am thankful that my daughter, Taylor, has been able to return to soccer from her ACL surgeries. I am thankful for her resiliency throughout the process. I am thankful for my wife, her support. And, I am thankful for my health. But most of all, I am thankful that we all will be together this holiday season.


Throughout the past two years, gratitude has become an important mindset to remember. During times of uncertainty, gratitude has become a discipline that has become necessary to practice. The “memorable moments” we create for our patients are always a highlight for me and a way to refocus on how grateful I am to work with you. So many of you go above and beyond to love our patients in our hospitals and clinics and I’m continually encouraged by it – those of you who helped a patient celebrate his wife’s birthday by gifting him a cake, quality patient care stories across the region, Sunshine Walks for discharged patients – the list can go on and on. We often experience so much joy after doing small acts of kindness.


As you know, the opposite of gratitude is ingratitude. When you don’t express gratitude and you assume the other person understands your perspective, what you really are expressing and certainly not intending to, is ingratitude. It can be easy to slip into this mindset and function on “autopilot” when life gets busy. During the holiday season, where there are constant errands to be done and events to attend, it is important to combat ingratitude with simple acts of kindness.


Call up the people who have given you so much over the past year and just say thank you. Use the holiday season as a reason to send out cards to those you don’t call. Individualize each card with a note and your own signature. Make your audience feel special. Remember, it is about quality not quantity. Here are more ideas to spark a daily gratitude habit by starting small.


I challenge you to find one way to demonstrate appreciation and gratitude each day. Simply saying “thank you” or spending five extra minutes talking with your coworker, spouse or anyone else you come in contact with, such as the HEB cashier. As we move into 2022 and begin making resolutions, a mindset of gratitude towards those around you can positively shift your outlook on each day.


I am so thankful for our BSWH family and hope you have a restful holiday season with your loved ones.


Happy Holidays!

Jason

コメント


bottom of page