top of page

Join our mailing list and never miss an update!

Time to Chill

Recently, there have been times I have hit "the COVID wall." Before COVID, I would occasionally hit a wall, and could typically push through. If it was a hard day at work, or if one of my daughters was experiencing some drama (they are both teenagers), I was raised to put my head down and push through.


Before COVID, it was possible to do this because I knew that whatever it was, it would all be over, sometime in the near future. COVID has changed this. None of us know "when it will all be over." We thought we got a glimpse of it early this past summer, but then we all know what happened since then.


I don't have to tell you that our hospitals, ERs, urgent cares and clinics are more than full. As COVID continues, over 18 months in now, I hit that hard day, that COVID wall, and my approach has had to change. It's no longer possible to just push through, looking to the future and knowing it will end soon.


This past Labor Day weekend, my dog Asher reminded me of another important life skill: taking time to chill.



My family was getting ready to go swimming, and Asher wanted to spend time with everyone, so he parked himself in one of the swimming tubes. As you can see, he's the picture of chill. Being around him serves as a good reminder for me and helps lower stress levels.


In case you too are hitting a wall, I hope you can take a moment away over the next week or two for yourself - and remember to just chill, even if just for a few moments.


I appreciate all you do - and your unending dedication to our team during this difficult time.


Talk soon,

Jason

Comments


bottom of page