top of page

Join our mailing list and never miss an update!

I Never Thought This Would Happen to Me

You may be wondering why I'm starting a blog. If you can’t tell, we’ve been growing, and I’ve noticed many new faces. I will continue to get out of my office, join huddles, round and shadow, but I wanted a way to connect on a more personal level with each of you.

This is something I’ve never done and honestly, it scares me a little. I’m going to send out a blog three to four times a month. As always, please stop by or send me an email with your thoughts or questions.

I started in healthcare as a physical therapist. After graduating from University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston, I was determined to make a difference and help others improve their physical lives. As a physical therapist, I saw many patients who had undergone back surgery come into the clinic in severe pain. I can remember saying, “I will have to not be able to get out of bed before I have back surgery.”

During my first year in PT school, I sustained an injury playing football called Grade I spondylolisthesis. Basically, in English, this means that my last lumbar vertebrae had slipped forward on my sacrum. I had occasional back pain, but I was fine with it and remained active. As the years went on, the slippage of the bones moved from Grade I to Grade III. The activities I love doing (working out, jogging, snowboarding, water skiing, golf, being active with my kids) were becoming more and more difficult.

I was taking three types of medication daily to ease the pain. Finally, I decided to have back surgery. I remember thinking “I never thought this would happen to me.”

On March 4, 2017, I underwent 5-6 hours of 360° surgery fusing two of my vertebrae together. I spent two nights in the hospital and had a slow recovery. I almost passed out and would have fallen had it not been for my wife. I used a rolling walker for two weeks, nerve pain overcame one of my legs for two weeks, and after 6 months, I had to get two of my screws from the surgery removed (pictured).

Because of my surgery, I got to experience the other side of healthcare. As a patient, I witnessed the care that our staff and providers serve with every day. I got to see the care that a nurse provided on the fourth floor of our hospital where she made up the couch in my room with a sheet, blanket and pillow for my wife to sleep. Throughout my stay, I got to see small things that may not seem impactful on their own, but create a remarkable experience when you put them together.

Many people who walk through our doors are experiencing an “I never thought this would happen to me” moment. These moments are difficult to process, and often out of our comfort zones. Small acts of kindness by our staff can take these tough experiences and transform them into remarkable experiences and great memories.

As I write this blog, I am celebrating one year since my surgery. Looking back on my stay, I still wish I’d never had to have surgery, but this surgery taught me a lot and most importantly, reminded me of what a great team of people we have here in the College Station Region.

It is a true honor to serve with each of you! I hope you have a great week.

Talk soon, Jason

bottom of page