top of page

Join our mailing list and never miss an update!

Reminded of What Is Important

As I prepared to write this week’s blog, I was thinking about what to write about and trying to actually find the time to write it. I know the world rotates on its axis every 24 hours: day becomes night and the cycle continues. While these 24 hours never actually change, sometimes it feels like the world is getting faster and faster, with more to do and more to juggle.

In the age of social media, millions of emails and constant internet access at your fingertips, it can sometimes feel like a struggle just to keep my head above water.

I don't know if anyone else feels this way, but at times I do! But this weekend I was “reminded of what is important.” As I watched the 10:00 pm news this weekend, they were reporting on the passing of Barbara Bush. As the story progressed, the reporters discussed how Barbara and George met, what her experience was like as the first lady, and some of her favorite quotes. One quote in particular impacted me.

In 1990, Barbara Bush delivered the commencement speech at Wellesley College. During her speech, Mrs. Bush said, “At the end of your life, you will never regret not having passed one more test, winning one more verdict, or not closing one more deal,” she said. “You will regret time not spent with a husband, a child, a friend or a parent.”

In this crazy world we live in, I encourage each of you to find that time to spend with someone who is special to each of you.

Thanks for what each of you do for our patients and their families.

Talk soon, Jason

bottom of page