top of page

Join our mailing list and never miss an update!

The simplest things make us smile the most

This past weekend, my family and I went up to my in-laws' place in North Texas to visit my sister-in-law’s family who was also coming into town. We don't get to see her family often because they live on the upper east coast. As we were preparing for the trip, I have to admit that I was not looking forward to the packing, the almost four-hour drive, and not sleeping in my own bed. (I know, I sound like an old man.)

It had been a usual, busy week for me, but even more hectic with the mock survey that was going on. We made it to North Texas and ended up having a great time. While we were there, I was reminded that although my world appears to be getting faster, busier and more hectic, it's important to take time to notice the simple things that bring a smile to my face.

This weekend, the smile was due to my 19-month-old nephew, Carson, who had just started to say “Batman, batman, batman” over and over until his father played the Batman theme song on his phone so Carson could run around the house like Batman to catch the bad guys.

The whole time he was chasing bad guys, Carson had the biggest smile on his face. As I watched my nephew, a smile crept across my own face and I remembered my childhood when things seemed simpler. I remember the little things that made me smile and take a break from life.

As a kid, I always looked forward to Friday nights because it meant I got to watch the TV show Dukes of Hazard. When the song Eye of the Tiger plays, it reminds me of all the times my dad and I watched Rocky defeat Clubber Lane (Mr. T) in Rocky III. I love these memories and what they represent - a time when things were simpler.

I am glad I made the trip this past weekend and am thankful for my little nephew reminding me to take time for the small things that make you smile or make your day a little bit brighter in this hectic world.

Talk soon,

Jason

bottom of page