top of page

Join our mailing list and never miss an update!

Traditions

Q: Do you see healthcare moving in the direction of more e-visits (like Facetime) for simple issues, and concierge medicine where providers (APPs) go to see patients who could otherwise not attend their appointments?

A: I think more and more people do not want to wait and want access to things as soon as possible, even with healthcare. Because of this, I see the healthcare industry continuing to utilize technology to allow for increased access to certain aspects of medicine. Also, with the projection that there will not be enough primary care physicians to care for our nation in the future, I think healthcare organizations will look to utilize not only technology but Advance Practice Professionals (APPs) to meet the needs of our communities.

Submit a question to be answered in the next blog! Scroll to the bottom of the homepage and type in your question.

-

I'm not certain, but I'd assume most of you have some sort of tradition around the holidays. Maybe it is something traditional like putting cookies out for Santa or singing Christmas songs. When I was growing up, my family had one “normal” tradition and one "not-so-normal” tradition.

The "not-so-normal" tradition started one year when my family decided we didn't want to eat turkey on Christmas since we had just eaten turkey at Thanksgiving. My parents decided we would choose a different meal for Christmas each year. Sometimes, it was as simple as steak with baked potatoes and salad. The most unusual meal I remember was fried catfish. We all went to a catfish farm, watched the workers net out fresh catfish, and fried it up for dinner.

The more "normal" Christmas tradition was that each year we would go to the Christmas Eve service at our church. Now that Jennifer and I have our own family, we have traditions of our own with our girls. We always watch the movie, Christmas Vacation, as many times as we can, and go to our church’s Christmas Eve service. When we opened the hospital, we started a new tradition of coming up as a family to deliver baked goods to the staff who are working on Christmas day. Jennifer and I felt like this was a good way to teach our girls the importance of serving others, and it's an opportunity for them to see the staff doing the same thing.

We are thankful for this opportunity to serve those who are serving our patients. I hope that each of you have the best holiday season.

Merry Christmas!

Jason

bottom of page