top of page

Join our mailing list and never miss an update!

The Power of Grace

I don't know about those of you who have had kids turn 16 lately and start driving, but turning 16 last year was different for our daughter, Reagan. When I turned 16, I could not wait to drive and had my first day of driving all planned out. But, Reagan has so much access to friends and the world through that small device called a smart phone, that she put it off. As I talk to more parents, I'm realizing lots of kids are putting off driving.

She finally got her license and started driving in January. For my wife and I, it was a balance - we wanted her to start driving but at the same time wanted her to be safe. But just like for me and my wife, our first fender bender was inevitable, and we knew Reagan would eventually have her first accident.

About 10 days ago, on a rainy, foggy morning, our daughter got into her first fender bender. She was moving over lanes, and did not see the other driver in her blind spot, and grazed the other car. The other driver chose to display the power of grace.

As you can imagine, Reagan was upset, but the other driver consoled her, and even gave her a hug. As Reagan shared our car insurance information with the other driver, the other driver asked, “You wouldn’t happen to be the daughter of Jason Jennings?”. Reagan said, “Yes ma’am,” and the driver told Reagan that she was a doctor here. I am sure the next thought that entered Reagan’s head was "Not only is it bad enough that I was in my first accident, but I hit someone who works with my dad."

My wife and I both ended up calling the physician, and while we wished that Reagan had never got into that accident, we were both so thankful it involved someone so thoughtful, caring and full of grace towards our daughter.

As each of you answer the phone each day to schedule visits, treat patients at the bedside, clean a room, or care for our patients in whatever way you do - remember that a little grace can make such a positive impact!

Talk soon,

Jason

bottom of page