top of page

Join our mailing list and never miss an update!

Making Chaos Fun

If you look at the picture below, you'll notice it's the master bedroom in our house. However, if you look more closely, it is much more chaotic than normal for the bedroom.

As both the temperature and humidity rose over the month of May, one Sunday afternoon the main A/C unit for our house went out. As you can imagine, the likelihood of getting an A/C technician out to our home on a Sunday evening was slim to none. So we decided to make chaos fun.

We took the mattress off of one daughter’s bed, moved the recliner into the bedroom and decided to have a slumber party with myself, my wife, and our two girls. To add to the chaos, our new box fan we bought to help with air flow sounded like an airplane landing. As we turned off the lights and tried to go to sleep, laughter filled the room.

It was a night that I won't forget for many good reasons, even though we were dealing with a hot and stuffy house. It also made me think about our patients who stay overnight in our hospitals. That must also feel like chaos to them with staff coming and going trying to do their jobs throughout the day and night.

I encourage you to make each stay for our patients and families memorable for the right reasons, despite the chaos. When they get discharged, I hope they say "I wish I didn't have to be in the hospital in the first place, but if I did have to do it again, I'd hope it would be this one."

Talk soon,

Jason

bottom of page