top of page

Join our mailing list and never miss an update!

Crossing the finish line to better

I hope each of you had a wonderful holiday season. Prior to the holiday season, I signed up for the Baylor Scott & White BCS 1/2 Marathon held on December 8th. I ran the half marathon for many years, but the last time I was able to run it was in 2015 due to my back pain.

For those who have been reading my blogs from the beginning, my first blog was about my back surgery that occurred in 2017. A quick recap: I have had back issues since my early 20’s, tried about every non-surgical treatment, and then in 2017, after taking multiple pills every day to deal with the pain, I decided to have 360-degree back fusion.

My wife will tell you that I had no business trying to run the half-marathon (I think she would rather have me around for the long term vs. one race), but for some reason I needed to show myself that I could do it; that I could return to where I was prior to my surgery. So, four years older and a back surgery later, I took off on a journey to run the 1/2 Marathon.

I trained, but the most I had run up until race day was nine miles. In my mind, I thought "What is another 4 miles? I can just gut it out." So on race day, I started the 1/2 Marathon, more nervous and apprehensive than I had ever been in any previous race. The race was going well, but at mile 11, my left hamstring felt like a shoe string that all at once decided to shorten. I had to stop and stretch it out.

I did stretch it out, not sure if I would be able to keep running. When I started to trot and then run, I was able to finish the race. As I crossed the finish line, I was overwhelmed with the feeling of completion, of being proud, and feeling like my surgery did not define me.

I am sure this is a similar feeling to that of some of our patients who take their first step after surgery, or pick up their grandchild for the first time, or are simply able to return to their church or go out to dinner with their loved ones. I want to thank each of you for the assistance and skill you provide to each patient who calls upon us for their care to help them get back to a new normal. Our patients are not a number, not an MRN, but people who want to get better. Thank you for helping them cross the finish line to better!

Talk soon,

Jason

bottom of page