top of page

Join our mailing list and never miss an update!

Serving our country and community

President Woodrow Wilson issued the order marking the first Veterans Day, which coincides with the anniversary of the end of World War I. Major hostilities of World War I were formally ended at the 11th hour of the 11th day of the 11th month of 1918.


While I never served in the armed forces, my two grandfathers served in World War II. Pictured below is one of my grandfathers, Virgil Smith.

Growing up, I never knew that both of my grandfathers served; I just knew them as Papa Jack and Papa Virgil. One would take me fishing and the other owned a roller skating rink where I could go and skate, play video games and eat as much junk food as possible – heaven for a young boy.


It struck me later in life that there was a whole part of their lives I didn't see as a young child. They'd served our country and sacrificed for their families, friends and communities. I know many of you who walk our hallways have also made this sacrifice - and given more than we could ever comprehend.


We have patients who come to our clinics and hospitals who have a lot going on in the background we never see. Maybe they served our country; maybe they made a sacrifice they carry with them daily. We don't know their history, or even the small obstacles they had to overcome to prepare for a surgery or procedure.


What encourages me is seeing a similar spirit of self-sacrifice in each and every one of you on a daily basis - and even more lately - to compassionately care for each patient. You take ownership of the ability to serve our fellow person, even in the most difficult times, wearing a mask and eye protection.


For this, I want to thank you for your commitment to serving others. And on this Veterans Day, I also want to thank each of you who have served in our United States Armed Forces.

Talk soon,


Jason

Comments


bottom of page